Office of the Governor Rick Perry

Gov. Perry Appoints Five to Governor's Committee on People with Disabilities

Friday, December 19, 2008  •  Appointment

AUSTIN – Gov. Rick Perry has appointed five members to the Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities for terms to expire Feb. 1, 2010. The committee works to ensure Texans with disabilities may live their lives with integrity, independence and productivity.

Rodolfo “Rudy” Becerra Jr. of Nacogdoches is a library student assistant and disability consultant to the director of disabilities at Stephen F. Austin State University (SFASU).  He is a charter member and president of the SFASU chapter of the Golden Key Honor Society. He is also a volunteer with the Nacogdoches Wagon Wheel Program.  Becerra replaces Nancy Shugart of Austin.

Aaron W. Bangor of Austin is principal member of the AT&T Labs Inc. technical staff. He is a member of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society. He is also board certified in professional ergonomics as a Certified Human Factors Professional.  Bangor received bachelor’s degrees, a master’s degree and doctoral degree in human factors engineering from Virginia Tech University. He is being reappointed. 

Maureen F. McClain of Pharr is associate director of disability services at the University of Texas-Pan American. She is a member of the Association of Higher Education and Disabilities, and was appointed to the Academic Advisement Council. She is a past member of the Rio Grande Valley Habitat for Humanity Board of Directors.  McClain received a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree in rehabilitative counseling from The University of Texas Pan American.  She replaces Tommie Wells of Fort Worth.

Judy C. Scott of Dallas is director of the American Foundation for the Blind Center on Vision Loss. She is a member of the Reading and Radio Resource for the Blind Advisory Committee, and past chair of the Vision Services Consortium, Texas State Independent Living Council, and Texas Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired. She is also a past member of the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services Division for Blind Services, Texas Rehabilitation Commission Rehabilitation Advisory Councils, and access committees for the American Airlines Arena and the International Terminal at Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport. Scott received bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Texas A&M University-Commerce. She is being reappointed and will continue as chair of the committee.

Kathy Strong of Garrison is executive director of the Nacogdoches Treatment Center. She is an ex-officio member of the Nacogdoches Mayor’s Committee on People with Disabilities, a member of the State of Texas Guardianship Certification Board, and president of the Nacogdoches Handicapped Housing Board of Directors. She is also a member of the Nacogdoches Chamber of Commerce Transportation Committee and the Leadership Nacogdoches Steering Committee. Strong received a bachelor’s degree from Stephen F. Austin State University. She is being reappointed.

Learn more about:
Governor's Initiatives »
Connect With Us
Texas Governor's Office on Google+Google+ Texas Governor's Office on LinkedInLinkedIn Texas Governor's Office YouTube ChannelYouTube Sign Up For Email Updates - Opens New WindowEmail Texas Governor's Office Flickr Photo StreamFlickr RSS FeedsRSS Feeds FlipboardFlipboard InstagramInstagram
Related News
March 17, 2014 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
Barbara Jordan Media Awards Winners Announced
January 29, 2014 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
Governor’s Committee on People with Disabilities and Accessibility Professionals Association Announce Winners of 2013 Accessibility Awards
July 23, 2013 • Austin, Texas • Appointment
Gov. Perry Appoints Eight to Continuing Advisory Committee for Special Education
July 23, 2013 • Austin, Texas • Appointment
Gov. Perry Appoints Four to State Independent Living Council
View News Archive »