Office of the Governor Rick Perry

Gov. Perry Appoints Four to Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees

Tuesday, August 30, 2011  •  Austin, Texas  •  Appointment

Gov. Rick Perry has appointed four members to the Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees effective Sept. 1, 2011. The board members act as trustees for Teacher Retirement System funds, securities and other assets.

T. Karen Charleston of Houston is a space management assistant for Prairie View A&M University (PVAMU). She is president of the Prairie View Chapter of the Texas State Employees Union, and a member of the PVAMU Institutional BioSafety Committee, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, and Tau Beta Sigma National Honorary Band Sorority. She is also a past board member and past chair of the PVAMU Staff Advisory Council, and a past member of the National Association for Multicultural Educators and Texas Historical Commission African American Heritage Task Force. Charleston received a bachelor's degree from Huston-Tillotson University. She is appointed for a term to expire Aug. 31, 2017.

Joe Colonnetta of Dallas is a private investor. He is a board member of the Baylor Health Care System Foundation, Episcopal School of Dallas and Texas Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board. He is also a Boy Scout merit badge counselor. Colonnetta received a bachelor's degree from the University of Houston. He is appointed for a term to expire Aug. 31, 2013.

David Kelly of Plano is managing partner of Straight Line Realty Partners. He is a member of the Dallas Assembly and Al Masah Capital Advisory Board. He is also past chairman of the Texas Public Finance Authority, and past director of the Texas Handicapped Accessibility Initiative and Dallas Affordable Housing Coalition. Kelly received a bachelor's degree from Harvard University and a Master of Business Administration from the Stanford University Graduate School of Business Administration. He is reappointed to the board for a term to expire Aug. 31, 2017, and will continue to serve as board chair for a term to expire at the pleasure of the governor.

Anita Palmer of Wichita Falls is a published artist and author, community volunteer and retired educator in the Wichita Falls Independent School District. She is president of the Olney Hamilton Hospital Foundation, an honorary life member of the National Parent Teacher Association, past district president of the Texas Retired Teachers Association (TRTA), and a former member of TRTA's State Retirement Education Committee. She is past president of the American Association of University Women and District 9 Classroom Teachers Association, past chair of the College Financial Aid Clinic, a past judge and past director of the University Interscholastic League, and a past member of the Texas Board of Nursing. Palmer received a bachelor's and master's degree in education from Southwestern Oklahoma State University. She is appointed for a term to expire Aug. 31, 2017.

Governor's Initiatives:
Education »
Connect With Us
Texas Governor's Office on Google+Google+ Texas Governor's Office on LinkedInLinkedIn Texas Governor's Office YouTube ChannelYouTube Sign Up For Email Updates - Opens New WindowEmail Texas Governor's Office Flickr Photo StreamFlickr RSS FeedsRSS Feeds RSS FeedsPodcasts InstagramInstagram
Related News
February 12, 2014 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
ICYMI: Advanced Placement Participation More than Doubles in Past Decade
February 05, 2014 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
ICYMI: Texas Affordable Degree Program Launched
December 02, 2013 • College Station, Texas • Press Release
Gov. Perry Presents Cognizant STEM Grant to Texas A&M
October 25, 2013 • Jerusalem, Israel • Speech
Text of Gov. Perry Announcement on Creation of Texas A&M University Branch Campus in Israel
View News Archive »