Office of the Governor Rick Perry

Gov. Perry Appoints Four to Humanities Texas

Tuesday, September 13, 2011  •  Austin, Texas  •  Appointment

Gov. Rick Perry has appointed four members to Humanities Texas, which approves and administers grants to projects focusing on matters of public interest and concern, and fosters public appreciation for the humanities.

Maceo Crenshaw Dailey Jr. of El Paso is director of the University of Texas at El Paso African American Studies Program and an associate professor in the Department of History. He is a member of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and a board member of Texas A&M University Press and the El Paso County Historical Association. He is a past board member of the Child Crisis Center of El Paso, El Paso Symphony, El Paso Art Museum Advisory Board, Burnham Wood Charter School, and McCall Neighborhood Center. Dailey received a bachelor's degree from Towson State University, a master's degree in history from Morgan State University, and a doctorate of history from Howard University. He is reappointed for a term to expire Dec. 31, 2012.

Joy Ann Havran of Fort Worth is a certified public accountant (CPA). She is a member of the Texas Society of CPAs and Leadership Fort Worth, and a board member of Cook Children's Medical Center and Jewel Charity Ball. She is a past board member of Mayfest, the Junior League of Fort Worth, Fort Worth Dallas Ballet, Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra Association, Fort Worth Country Day School, Harris Methodist Health Foundation, and March of Dimes of North Texas. She is also a founding trustee and past member of the Harris Hospital Doris Kupferle Breast Center, and past fundraising gala chair for the March of Dimes, Jewel Charity, Big Brothers Big Sisters of North Texas, Historic Fort Worth, Van Cliburn Piano Competition and the Arts Council of Tarrant County. Havran received a bachelor's degree and Master of Business Administration from Texas Christian University. She is reappointed for a term to expire Dec. 31, 2012.

Polly Sowell of Austin is retired, and a community volunteer. She is past president of the Texas Women's Alliance, former executive director of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services, and a past member of the Texas Commission on the Arts. Sowell received a bachelor's degree from Sweet Briar College. She is appointed for a term to expire Dec. 31, 2011.

Venus Strawn of Austin is a retired nurse and community volunteer. She is a board member of the St. David's Community Health Foundation W. Neal Kocurek Scholarship Program and Rise School of Austin Steering Committee. She is also co-founder and a past co-chair of Dancing with the Stars-Austin. Strawn attended Fordham University and received a nursing degree from the Roosevelt Hospital School of Nursing. She is reappointed for a term to expire Dec. 31, 2012.

Learn more about:
Governor's Initiatives »
Connect With Us
Texas Governor's Office on Google+Google+ Texas Governor's Office on LinkedInLinkedIn Texas Governor's Office YouTube ChannelYouTube Sign Up For Email Updates - Opens New WindowEmail Texas Governor's Office Flickr Photo StreamFlickr RSS FeedsRSS Feeds FlipboardFlipboard InstagramInstagram
Related News
April 20, 2012 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
Texas Music Office Announces Live Music Grant Program
March 27, 2012 • Austin, Texas • Appointment
Gov. Perry Names Waters Chair of State Library and Archives Commission
February 10, 2012 • Austin, Texas • Noteworthy
On Set in Texas at Austin Studios
January 30, 2012 • Austin, Texas • Appointment
Gov. Perry Reappoints Three to Humanities Texas
View News Archive »