Office of the Governor Rick Perry

Gov. Perry Appoints Four to Select Committee on Economic Development

Names Epperson presiding officer
Thursday, April 05, 2012  •  Austin, Texas  •  Appointment

Gov. Rick Perry has appointed four members to the Select Committee on Economic Development and named James Epperson Jr. of Dallas presiding officer for terms to expire at the pleasure of the governor. Pursuant to House Bill 2785 of the 82nd Legislative Session, the committee will make recommendations to the Legislature on economic development policies for the state.

Epperson is senior vice president of AT&T Strategic and Employee Communications. He is former president of AT&T Texas and Oklahoma. He is a board member and executive committee member of the United Way of Metropolitan Dallas. Epperson received a bachelor's degree from the University of Central Oklahoma.

Stacey Gillman Wimbish of Houston is president of Gillman Companies. She is chairman of the Texas Automobile Dealers Association, a member of the National Automobile Dealers Association and Subaru of America National and Regional Dealer Council, a certified member of the Association of Finance and Insurance Professionals, and past chairman of the Houston Automobile Dealers Association. She is also underwriter for the Ramsay Gillman Charitable Golf Tournament. Gillman Wimbish attended the University of Texas, and is a graduate of the General Motors Marketing Educational Services Dealer Management program and National Automobile Dealer Association Dealer Candidate Academy.

Maher Maso of Frisco is mayor of the City of Frisco, and manager of Maso Asset Management. He is a member of the National League of Cities, and the league's Community and Economic Development Steering and International Council committees and Youth Participation Advisory Network. He is also a member of the U.S. Conference of Mayors, Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition and the North Texas Commission, and a board member and past chairman of the Collin College Education Foundation. He is a member of the Regional Transportation Council, International Conference of Shopping Centers, Metroplex Mayors Association, Mayor's Youth Council and the Memorial Day Committee, and chair of the Team Frisco NCAA Division I Football Local Organizing Committee. Maso received a bachelor's degree from the University of Phoenix and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Carlton Schwab of Austin is president and CEO of the Texas Economic Development Council. He is a member of the Southern Economic Development Council and Texas Legislative Conference Advisory Committee, and a member and chair of the International Economic Development Council State Associations Committee. He is also a member of the Austin College Athletic Lettermen Association, and a past member of the Austin College Alumni Board and Texas Wine Industry Advisory Board. Schwab received a bachelor's degree from Austin College and a Master of Public Affairs from the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs.

Learn more about:
Governor's Initiatives »
Connect With Us
Texas Governor's Office on Google+Google+ Texas Governor's Office on LinkedInLinkedIn Texas Governor's Office YouTube ChannelYouTube Sign Up For Email Updates - Opens New WindowEmail Texas Governor's Office Flickr Photo StreamFlickr RSS FeedsRSS Feeds FlipboardFlipboard InstagramInstagram
Related News
October 13, 2014 • Austin, Texas • Press Release
Gov. Perry Leads Economic Development Delegation in Europe
September 25, 2014 • Houston, Texas • Speech
Text of Gov. Perry's Remarks at the Texas Public Policy Foundation's Energy and Climate Policy Summit
September 22, 2014 • Cameron County, Texas • Press Release
Gov. Perry Helps Break Ground on SpaceX Commercial Launch Facility
September 18, 2014 • College Station, Texas • Press Release
Gov. Perry Helps Dedicate Pandemic Influenza Vaccine Facility
View News Archive »