Office of the Governor Rick Perry

Gov. Perry Again Renews Proclamation Extending Drought Emergency

Thursday, February 21, 2013  •  Austin, Texas  •  Proclamation


I, RICK PERRY, Governor of the State of Texas, issued an Emergency Disaster Proclamation on July 5, 2011, certiffing that exceptional drought conditions posed a threat of imminent disaster in specified counties in Texas.

WHEREAS, record high temperatures, preceded by significantly low rainfall, have resulted in declining reservoir and aquifer levels, threatening water supplies and delivery systems in many parts of the state; and

WHEREAS, prolonged dry conditions continue to increase the threat of wildfire across many portions of the state; and

WHEREAS, these drought conditions have reached historic levels and continue to pose an imminent threat to public health, property and the economy; and

WHEREAS, this state of disaster includes the counties of Archer, Armstrong, Austin,Bailey, Bandera, Baylor, Bee, Bell, Blanco, Borden, Bosque, Bowie, Briscoe, Brooks, Brown, Burnet, Caldwell, Callahan, Cameron, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay,Cocbran, Coke, Coleman, Collin, Collingsworth, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell,Cottle, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson, Dallam, Dallas, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Delta, Denton, Dewitt, Dickens, Dimmit, Donley, Duval, Eastland, Edwards, Ellis, Erath,Falls, Fannin, Fayette, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gray, Grayson, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hale, Hall, Hamilton, Hansford,Hardeman, Harris, Hartley, Haskell, Hays, Hemphill, Hidalgo, Hill, Hockley, Hood,Hopkins, Howard, Hudspeth, Hunt, Hutchinson, Jack, Jeff Davis, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Johnson, Jones, Karnes, Kaufman, Kendall, Kenedy, Kent, Kerr, Kimble, King, Kinney,Kleberg, Knox, La Salle, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lipscomb, Live Oak, Llano, Lubbock, Lynn, Mason, Maverick, Mclennan, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Milam,Mills, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Nueces, Ochiltree, Oldham, Palo Pinto, Parker, Parmer, Potter, Presidio, Rains, Randall, Real, Red River, Refugio,Roberts, Runnels, San Patricio, San Saba, Schleicher, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Somervell, Starr, Stephens, Sterling, Stonewall, Sutton, Swisher, Tarrant, Taylor, Terry,Throckmorton, Travis, Uvalde, Val Verde, Van Zandt, Washington, Webb, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Willacy, Williamson, Wise, Yoakum, Young, Zapata and Zavala.

THEREFORE, in accordance with the authority vested in me by Section 418.014 of the Texas Govemment Code, I do hereby renew the disaster proclamation and direct that all necessary measures, both public and private as authorized under Section 418.017 of the code, be implemented to meet that threat.

As provided in Section 418.016 of the code, all rules and regulations that may inhibit or prevent prompt response to this threat are suspended for the duration of the state of disaster.

In accordance with the statutory requirements, copies of this proclamation shall be file

Governor of Texas

Learn more about:
Governor's Initiatives »
Connect With Us
Texas Governor's Office on Google+Google+ Texas Governor's Office on LinkedInLinkedIn Texas Governor's Office YouTube ChannelYouTube Sign Up For Email Updates - Opens New WindowEmail Texas Governor's Office Flickr Photo StreamFlickr RSS FeedsRSS Feeds FlipboardFlipboard InstagramInstagram